what is vegan

Is zinc stearate vegan?

Zinc stearate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is zinc stearate?

Zinc stearate is a fine white powder that is widely used as a release agent, lubricant, and stabilizer in the food industry. It is a compound of zinc and stearic acid, a saturated fatty acid derived from animal and vegetable fats. Zinc stearate is insoluble in water and alcohol but soluble in chlorinated hydrocarbons, making it an excellent anti-caking agent for dry powders. Additionally, it helps prevent sticking in food processing equipment and enhances the texture of certain foods. Despite concerns about its safety, zinc stearate is generally recognized as safe by the FDA and is commonly used in food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like zinc stearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy