what is vegan

Is zwart zout vegan?

Zwart zout is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is zwart zout?

Zwart zout, also known as black salt or kala namak, is a type of rock salt that originates from the volcanic regions of Pakistan and India. Its striking color comes from the presence of sulfur compounds, which also give it a distinct and pungent aroma. In traditional Indian cuisine, it's commonly used as a seasoning in chaats, chutneys, and raitas, adding a savory umami flavor to dishes. It's also popular among vegans and vegetarians as a substitute for eggs, as it has an eggy smell and flavor when mixed with tofu or other egg substitutes. Additionally, it's believed to have medicinal properties and is used in Ayurvedic medicine to treat digestive issues and high blood pressure.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like zwart zout?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy