what is vegan

Are à base de tomates vegan?

À base de tomates is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is à base de tomates?

"À base de tomates" is a French phrase that translates to "made with tomatoes." This versatile ingredient is a staple in many cuisines around the world, from Italian pasta sauces to Mexican salsas. Tomatoes are a great source of vitamin C and lycopene, a powerful antioxidant that may help reduce the risk of certain cancers. When used in cooking, they add a tangy sweetness and a bright pop of color. From canned tomato paste to fresh, vine-ripened varieties, "à base de tomates" is a must-have ingredient for any home cook or professional chef looking to add depth and flavor to their dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like à base de tomates?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy