what is vegan

Are amidi di mais vegan?

Amidi di mais is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is amidi di mais?

"Amidi di mais" is an Italian term that translates to "cornstarch" in English. It is a fine, powdery substance made from the starchy endosperm of corn kernels. Cornstarch is a versatile ingredient commonly used in cooking and baking as a thickener for soups, sauces, gravies, and puddings. Due to its neutral taste, it is also used as a coating for frying foods, such as chicken or fish. Gluten-free and low in calories, cornstarch is a popular alternative to wheat flour for those with gluten allergies or on a low-carb diet.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like amidi di mais?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy