what is vegan

Are annatto colors vegan?

Annatto colors is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is annatto colors?

Annatto colors are a natural food ingredient derived from the seeds of the Achiote tree, which is native to South America. These colors range from yellow to deep red and are commonly used in the food industry as a natural food coloring agent. Annatto colors are often used in dairy products, such as cheese and butter, as well as in baked goods and processed meats. In addition to providing vibrant color, annatto colors have antioxidant properties and may also have anti-inflammatory effects. These versatile colors are a popular choice for those seeking natural food colorings that are free from synthetic additives.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like annatto colors?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy