what is vegan

Are carrageninas vegan?

Carrageninas is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carrageninas?

Carrageenans are a type of naturally occurring polysaccharides that are extracted from red seaweed. These food additives are widely used in the food industry for their gelling, thickening, and stabilizing properties. Carrageenans are commonly used in dairy products, such as ice cream and chocolate milk, as well as in meat products, processed foods, and even toothpaste. They are considered safe for human consumption and are approved by various food regulatory agencies worldwide. Carrageenans come in different forms, such as kappa, iota, and lambda, with each type having specific properties that make them suitable for various food applications.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carrageninas?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy