what is vegan

Are semilla de anís vegan?

Semilla de anís is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is semilla de anís?

Semilla de anís, also known as aniseed, is a small, oblong-shaped seed that comes from the anise plant, scientifically known as Pimpinella anisum. This seed has a distinct licorice-like flavor and a sweet, aromatic scent, which makes it a popular ingredient in a variety of dishes and beverages, particularly in the Mediterranean and Middle Eastern cuisines. Aniseed is often used in baking, as well as in spice blends, teas, and liqueurs. It is believed to have numerous health benefits, such as aiding digestion, relieving coughs and colds, and improving sleep quality. Its essential oils are also used in aromatherapy for relaxation and stress relief.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like semilla de anís?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy