what is vegan

Are hydrolyzed corn proteins vegan?

Hydrolyzed corn proteins is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrolyzed corn proteins?

Hydrolyzed corn proteins are a food ingredient that is derived from corn by breaking down its proteins into smaller, more easily digestible components through a process called hydrolysis. This process involves using water and enzymes to break down the protein molecules, resulting in a powder that is rich in amino acids. Hydrolyzed corn proteins are a common ingredient in processed foods, such as snack foods, soups, and sauces, as they enhance flavor, texture, and nutrition. They are also used in some health supplements due to their high protein content and bioavailability. Overall, hydrolyzed corn proteins are a versatile and valuable ingredient in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrolyzed corn proteins?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy