what is vegan

Are kales vegan?

Kales is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is kales?

Kales, also known as leafy greens or borecole, are a type of cruciferous vegetable that belong to the same family as cabbage, broccoli, and Brussels sprouts. This hardy and nutrient-rich plant is characterized by its curly, dark green leaves and slightly bitter flavor. Kales are packed with vitamins A, C, and K, as well as antioxidants and fiber. They can be eaten raw in salads or cooked in a variety of dishes, such as stir-fries, soups, and stews. Kales are a versatile and healthy ingredient that can add flavor and nutrition to any meal.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like kales?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy