what is vegan

Are levures vegan?

Levures is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is levures?

Levures, also known as yeast, are a type of single-celled fungi that play a vital role in the culinary world. These tiny microorganisms are responsible for the fermentation process in bread, beer, wine, and other fermented foods. Yeast can be found in different forms, including fresh, dry, and instant. Fresh yeast has a short shelf life and requires refrigeration, while dry and instant yeast have a longer shelf life and are more convenient to use. In addition to their role in fermentation, levures are a rich source of vitamins and minerals, including B vitamins, zinc, and selenium. They are also used in some supplements for their potential health benefits, such as aiding digestion and boosting the immune system.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like levures?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy