what is vegan

Are maltodekstrīns vegan?

Maltodekstrīns is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maltodekstrīns?

Maltodekstrīns is a white, powdery food ingredient derived from starch, commonly used as a thickener or filler in processed foods, beverages, and supplements. It is a complex carbohydrate made up of glucose units and is easily digestible. Maltodekstrīns has a neutral taste and can improve the texture and mouthfeel of products, while also serving as a source of energy. It is often used as a substitute for sugar in low-calorie or sugar-free products, and as a bulking agent in powdered food mixes. Despite its widespread use, maltodekstrīns has been the subject of controversy due to concerns over its potential impact on blood sugar levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maltodekstrīns?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy