what is vegan

Are malts vegan?

Malts is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is malts?

Malts are a popular food ingredient that are often used to add a rich, toasty flavor and aroma to baked goods, beverages, and confectionery products. Made from sprouted grains that are dried and then roasted, malts come in various forms such as malted barley, wheat, and oats. They are commonly used in brewing beer and whiskey, but can also be found in chocolate, candy, and breakfast cereals. Malts are a natural source of vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants, and can provide a boost of energy thanks to their high carbohydrate content. Whether you're a professional baker or a home cook, adding malts to your recipes can give your creations a unique and delicious twist.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like malts?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy