what is vegan

Are oreilles de judas vegan?

Oreilles de judas is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is oreilles de judas?

Oreilles de judas, also known as wood ear mushrooms or black fungus, are a delicacy in Chinese cuisine. These thin, chewy, and almost translucent mushrooms grow in clusters on the trunks of dead or decaying trees. Despite their slightly ominous appearance, oreilles de judas are highly prized for their unique, umami-rich flavor and health benefits. They are a great source of iron, fiber, and antioxidants, and are often used in soups, stir-fries, and salads. In addition to their culinary uses, oreilles de judas have also been used in traditional medicine for centuries to treat various ailments, from coughs and colds to inflammation and high blood pressure.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like oreilles de judas?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy