what is vegan

Is ackee vegan?

Ackee is a tropical fruit native to West Africa, but widely cultivated in the Caribbean, particularly in Jamaica. This unique fruit is known for its striking appearance, with a bright red outer shell that splits open to reveal three large black seeds and a soft, creamy yellow flesh. Ackee is a popular ingredient in Caribbean cuisine, and is often used in savory dishes such as ackee and saltfish. However, it is important to note that the fruit should only be consumed once it has fully ripened and properly prepared, as the unripe fruit can be toxic. When cooked, the fruit takes on a fluffy, scrambled egg-like texture and a subtly sweet and nutty flavor.

Ackee is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ackee?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy