what is vegan

Is alcool de riz vegan?

Alcool de riz is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is alcool de riz?

Alcool de riz, also known as rice alcohol, is a clear and colorless liquid distilled from fermented rice. It is a popular ingredient in Asian cuisine, particularly in China and Japan, where it is used in cooking, as well as in the production of alcoholic beverages such as sake. Alcool de riz has a mild, sweet aroma and a distinctive, slightly sweet taste. It is often used as a flavoring agent in sauces, marinades, and stir-fries, and can also be used to preserve fruits and vegetables. Due to its high alcohol content, alcool de riz should be used in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like alcool de riz?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy