what is vegan

Is amidon de mai vegan?

Amidon de mai is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is amidon de mai?

Amidon de mai, also known as cornstarch, is a fine white powder derived from the endosperm of corn kernels. It is commonly used as a thickener in a variety of dishes such as soups, sauces, and gravies. Additionally, it is often used as a binding agent in baking recipes and as a coating for fried foods. Amidon de mai is a gluten-free alternative to wheat flour and is often used in gluten-free baking. It has a neutral flavor and adds a glossy appearance to foods. In addition to its culinary uses, it is also commonly used in cosmetic and pharmaceutical industries as a binder and absorbent.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like amidon de mai?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy