what is vegan

Is sorbitan stearate vegan?

Sorbitan stearate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sorbitan stearate?

Sorbitan stearate is a food ingredient derived from sorbitol, a sugar alcohol. It is commonly used as an emulsifier to help mix oil and water-based ingredients together. Sorbitan stearate is made by combining sorbitol with stearic acid, a type of fatty acid found in animal and vegetable fats. This ingredient has a white to yellowish color, and is usually in the form of a waxy solid. Sorbitan stearate is widely used in the food industry, especially in processed foods, bakery items, and dairy products. It is also used in cosmetics, personal care products, and pharmaceuticals as an emulsifying.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sorbitan stearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy