what is vegan

Is badiane vegan?

Badiane is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is badiane?

Badiane, also known as star anise, is a distinctive spice with a powerful licorice-like flavor and aroma. It is the fruit of a small tree native to China and Vietnam, and is now widely cultivated in other parts of Asia. The spice is made up of 8-pointed star-shaped pods that contain small, brown seeds. Badiane is a key ingredient in many Asian cuisines, particularly in Chinese five-spice powder, Vietnamese pho broth, and Indian garam masala. It is also used in baking, particularly in gingerbread and other sweet treats. Badiane is believed to have medicinal properties and is used in traditional Chinese and Ayurvedic medicine for its anti-inflammatory, antibacterial, and antiviral properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like badiane?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy