what is vegan

Is bisulfite de sodium vegan?

Bisulfite de sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is bisulfite de sodium?

Sodium bisulfite, also known as bisulfite de sodium, is a food ingredient that is commonly used as a preservative and antioxidant in the food industry. This white, crystalline powder is a salt composed of sodium, sulfur, and oxygen. It is water-soluble and has a slightly acidic taste. Sodium bisulfite is often added to processed foods such as dried fruits, wine, and canned vegetables to prevent spoilage and discoloration. It can also be used to neutralize chlorine in tap water, making it a common ingredient in home brewing and winemaking. While generally recognized as safe by the FDA, some individuals may have allergic reactions to this additive.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like bisulfite de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy