what is vegan

Is bleached starch vegan?

Bleached starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is bleached starch?

Bleached starch is a versatile food ingredient that has been treated with chemicals to remove its natural yellow color and give it a bright white shade. This process involves the use of oxygen, chlorine, or hydrogen peroxide, which break down the pigments present in the starch. Bleached starch is commonly used as a thickening agent in a variety of foods such as soups, sauces, and gravies. It also enhances the texture and appearance of baked goods by improving their volume and crumb structure. Additionally, bleached starch is gluten-free, making it an ideal ingredient for those with gluten allergies or sensitivities.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like bleached starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy