what is vegan

Is bone ash vegan?

Bone ash is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is bone ash?

Bone ash is a fine white powder made by burning bones at high temperatures. It is a natural and organic source of calcium, phosphorus, and other trace minerals. Bone ash has a long history of use in various industries, from the production of ceramics and glass to the manufacturing of fertilizer and animal feed. In the culinary world, bone ash is sometimes used as an ingredient to help clarify liquids or to add a unique flavor profile. It is also a common ingredient in some types of cheese, providing the necessary calcium to aid in the cheese-making process. While bone ash is derived from animal bones, it is safe for consumption and approved for use in food by regulatory agencies.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like bone ash?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy