what is vegan

Is brominated vegetable oil vegan?

Brominated vegetable oil is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is brominated vegetable oil?

Brominated vegetable oil (BVO) is a food ingredient used as an emulsifier to enhance the texture and stability of certain beverages, such as citrus-flavored soft drinks and sports drinks. BVO is made by bonding vegetable oil with bromine, a chemical element that acts as a flame retardant. Despite its widespread use in the food industry, BVO has been controversial due to potential health concerns. Some studies suggest that excessive consumption of BVO may lead to negative health effects, including skin rashes, nerve damage, and thyroid issues. As a result, BVO has been banned or restricted in several countries.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like brominated vegetable oil?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy