what is vegan

Is potassium iodate vegan?

Potassium iodate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is potassium iodate?

Potassium iodate is a chemical compound that is commonly used as a food additive, particularly in the baking industry. It is a white crystalline powder that is odorless and has a slightly bitter taste. Potassium iodate is often added to flour to increase its strength and improve its texture, making it ideal for producing high-quality bread and baked goods. Additionally, potassium iodate is used to fortify salt with iodine, an essential nutrient that is important for the proper functioning of the thyroid gland. While potassium iodate is generally considered safe, excessive consumption can have negative health effects, including thyroid disorders.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like potassium iodate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy