what is vegan

Is caramel au sulfite d' ammonium vegan?

Caramel au sulfite d' ammonium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is caramel au sulfite d' ammonium?

Caramel au sulfite d'ammonium is a sweet and sticky ingredient commonly used in baking and confectionery. It is made by heating sugar until it melts and turns golden brown, then adding ammonium sulfite to prevent the sugar from crystallizing. This results in a smooth and creamy texture with a distinctive aroma and taste. Caramel au sulfite d'ammonium is often used as a flavoring agent in desserts like cakes, cookies, and ice cream. It is also used in the production of caramel candies and sauces. Although it is generally considered safe for consumption, individuals with sulfite allergies should exercise caution.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like caramel au sulfite d' ammonium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy