what is vegan

Is carbonates acides d'ammonium vegan?

Carbonates acides d'ammonium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carbonates acides d'ammonium?

Carbonates acides d'ammonium, also known as ammonium hydrogen carbonate, is a chemical compound commonly used in the food industry as a leavening agent for baked goods. It is a white, crystalline powder with a slightly ammoniacal odor and a bitter taste. When heated, it decomposes into water, carbon dioxide, and ammonia gas, which causes the dough to rise and become light and fluffy. Unlike other leavening agents, ammonium hydrogen carbonate does not leave a residual alkaline taste or affect the color of the baked goods. Additionally, it is a gluten-free and vegan-friendly ingredient, making it a popular choice in the baking industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carbonates acides d'ammonium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy