what is vegan

Is carboximetil celulosa de sodio vegan?

Carboximetil celulosa de sodio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carboximetil celulosa de sodio?

Carboximetil celulosa de sodio, also known as sodium carboxymethylcellulose (SCMC), is a versatile food ingredient used as a thickener, emulsifier, and stabilizer in a wide range of products. SCMC is derived from cellulose, and its unique chemical properties make it highly effective at improving the texture and consistency of foods such as ice cream, salad dressings, and baked goods. Additionally, SCMC is often used as a low-calorie alternative to traditional thickeners and can improve the overall sensory experience of food products by enhancing mouthfeel and reducing unpleasant aftertastes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carboximetil celulosa de sodio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy