what is vegan

Is caseinato de sódio vegan?

Caseinato de sódio is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is caseinato de sódio?

Caseinato de sódio is a food ingredient that is commonly used as an emulsifier, stabilizer, and thickener. It is derived from casein, which is a protein found in milk. Caseinato de sódio is produced by treating casein with sodium hydroxide, resulting in a water-soluble salt. This ingredient is often added to processed foods such as dairy products, baked goods, and meat products to improve their texture and shelf life. Due to its ability to form a gel-like substance, it is also used in some protein powders and sports supplements. While generally considered safe for consumption, those with milk allergies or sensitivities should avoid it.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like caseinato de sódio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy