what is vegan

Is chéese culture vegan?

Chéese culture is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is chéese culture?

Cheese culture is a key ingredient used in the production of cheese. It is a mixture of beneficial bacteria that is added to milk to start the process of fermentation. These bacteria help convert lactose, the primary sugar in milk, into lactic acid, which gives cheese its tangy flavor and distinct texture. The type of cheese culture used can vary, depending on the desired flavor and texture of the final cheese product. Cheese cultures are carefully selected and monitored by cheesemakers to ensure consistent quality and flavor. In addition to creating unique flavors, cheese culture also plays a critical role in preserving cheese and ensuring its safety for consumption.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like chéese culture?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy