what is vegan

Is vegetable shorténing vegan?

Vegetable shorténing is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is vegetable shorténing?

Vegetable shortening is a semi-solid fat derived from vegetable oil, commonly used in baking and cooking. It is made by hydrogenating vegetable oil, which changes its physical properties and makes it a solid at room temperature. Vegetable shortening is popular in baking because it produces tender and flaky pastries, cakes, and cookies. It has a neutral flavor, which makes it versatile in recipes, and a high smoke point, which makes it suitable for frying. However, due to its high level of saturated fats, vegetable shortening is considered less healthy than other cooking oils and fats.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like vegetable shorténing?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy