what is vegan

Is cheese ricotta vegan?

Cheese ricotta is a soft, creamy and slightly grainy cheese that is traditionally made from the whey of cow's milk. With origins in Italian cuisine, it has a mild, sweet flavor that makes it a versatile ingredient for both savory and sweet dishes. Its texture lends itself well to being blended with other ingredients like herbs, garlic or fruit, making it perfect for use in dips, spreads, and desserts like cannoli and cheesecake. Ricotta cheese is also a great source of protein and calcium, making it a wholesome addition to any meal or snack.

Cheese ricotta is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cheese ricotta?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy