what is vegan

Is cream of tartar vegan?

Cream of tartar is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cream of tartar?

Cream of tartar, also known as potassium bitartrate, is a fine, white powder that is commonly used as a leavening agent in baking. It is a byproduct of winemaking, produced when tartaric acid forms crystals on the inside of wine barrels. This mild acidic powder is often used in recipes to help stabilize egg whites and whipped cream, prevent the crystallization of sugar, and activate baking soda in recipes that don't contain acidic ingredients. Cream of tartar has a slightly sour taste and is frequently used in making meringues, angel food cake, and snickerdoodle cookies. It's a versatile and essential ingredient in any baker's pantry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cream of tartar?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy