what is vegan

Is mono sodium glutamate vegan?

Mono sodium glutamate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is mono sodium glutamate?

Monosodium glutamate (MSG) is a flavor enhancer commonly used in Asian and Western cuisine. It is a white, odorless powder that is derived from glutamic acid, an amino acid found in many proteins. MSG is often added to foods such as soups, sauces, snacks, and processed meats to enhance their savory or umami taste. Although it has been the subject of controversy and concern, studies have not found any significant health risks associated with moderate consumption of MSG. It is important to note that some individuals may have a sensitivity to MSG and experience symptoms such as headaches, sweating, or flushing.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like mono sodium glutamate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy