what is vegan

Is e263 vegan?

E263 is a food additive commonly known as calcium acetate, which is derived from acetic acid and calcium carbonate. This white, odorless powder is soluble in water and has a slightly sweet taste. It is often used in the food industry as a preservative, stabilizer, and firming agent. Calcium acetate is commonly found in baked goods, dairy products, and canned fruits and vegetables. In addition to its culinary applications, it is also used in medicine to treat high levels of phosphate in the blood and as a treatment for kidney disease.

E263 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e263?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy