what is vegan

Is e524 vegan?

E524 is a food additive that goes by the name of sodium hydroxide, or more commonly, lye. It is a highly alkaline substance that is often used in the food industry as a pH adjuster or a leavening agent. Although lye is a naturally occurring substance found in wood ashes and seawater, it is usually synthesized chemically for commercial use. In food, it is commonly used to make pretzels, bagels, and other baked goods with a chewy texture. However, it is important to handle lye with caution, as it can be extremely corrosive and harmful if ingested or inhaled in its concentrated form.

E524 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e524?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy