what is vegan

Is e540 vegan?

E540 is a food ingredient commonly known as dicalcium phosphate, which is a type of calcium salt. It is a white powder that is often used in the food industry as a source of calcium and phosphorus. Dicalcium phosphate is a common food additive that can be found in a variety of products such as baked goods, breakfast cereals, and processed cheeses. It is also used as a nutritional supplement in some food products. Dicalcium phosphate is considered safe for human consumption by various regulatory agencies, but should be used in moderation as excessive consumption can lead to health problems.

E540 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e540?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy