what is vegan

Is ethymaltol vegan?

Ethymaltol is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ethymaltol?

Ethylmaltol is a popular food flavoring ingredient known for its sweet and caramel-like taste. It is a white crystalline powder that is derived from maltol, a natural organic compound found in roasted malt, coffee, and bread. Ethylmaltol is commonly used in the food industry to enhance the flavor and aroma of a variety of foods and beverages, including candies, baked goods, chewing gum, and fruit juices. Its sweet and fruity notes make it a popular choice for creating complex flavor profiles in desserts and confectionery products. Despite its popularity, it is important to note that ethylmaltol should be used in moderation as it can quickly overpower other flavors.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ethymaltol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy