what is vegan

Is gefiltefish vegan?

Gefiltefish is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gefiltefish?

Gefiltefish is a traditional Jewish dish made from poached fish balls, typically using carp, pike or whitefish. The fish are deboned, ground and then mixed with onions, carrots, eggs, matzo meal, salt and sugar to create a savory blend of flavors. The fish mixture is then shaped into oval patties or balls, poached in fish broth and served cold with horseradish. It's a staple dish during Jewish holidays, especially Passover, and is considered a delicacy that has been passed down through generations. This traditional dish is perfect for those seeking a unique and flavorful culinary experience.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gefiltefish?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy