what is vegan

Is hydrogenated vegetable fat vegan?

Hydrogenated vegetable fat is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrogenated vegetable fat?

Hydrogenated vegetable fat is a food ingredient commonly used in processed foods to improve texture, increase shelf life, and enhance flavor. It is made by adding hydrogen to vegetable oil to make it solid at room temperature, which also makes it more resistant to spoilage. However, the process of hydrogenation creates trans fats, which have been linked to increased risk of heart disease. While some food manufacturers have started using alternatives, such as palm oil or fully hydrogenated oils, to reduce trans fats, it is still important to read labels and limit intake of hydrogenated vegetable fat.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrogenated vegetable fat?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy