what is vegan

Is kaliumnitraatti vegan?

Kaliumnitraatti, also known as potassium nitrate or saltpeter, is a chemical compound with the molecular formula KNO3. It is a naturally occurring mineral that can be found in soil, and is also commonly used in the production of fertilizers, fireworks, and gunpowder. In the food industry, kaliumnitraatti is primarily used as a food preservative, especially for cured meats like bacon and ham. It works by inhibiting the growth of bacteria that can cause spoilage, and also helps to preserve the meat's color and flavor. However, it is important to use kaliumnitraatti in moderation, as excessive consumption can be harmful to health.

Kaliumnitraatti is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like kaliumnitraatti?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy