what is vegan

Is liivate vegan?

Liivate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

‚ÄĒ Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ūüėĀ"

‚ÄĒ Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

‚ÄĒ D√≥ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is liivate?

Liivate, also known as gelatin or collagen, is a colorless and tasteless ingredient commonly used in the food industry as a gelling agent. It is derived from animal connective tissues, such as skin and bones, which are first cleaned, treated, and then boiled to extract the collagen. Liivate is commonly used in making jellies, gummy candies, marshmallows, and other desserts that require a smooth and bouncy texture. It is also used in savory dishes like aspics, terrines, and meat glazes. Despite its widespread use, some people avoid liivate due to its animal-derived origin and prefer to use plant-based alternatives such as agar-agar or carrageenan.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like liivate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ūüôĆ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy