what is vegan

Is limpet vegan?

Limpet is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is limpet?

Limpets are small, cone-shaped marine mollusks that are commonly found along rocky shorelines worldwide. They have a tough, cone-shaped shell that is typically gray, brown, or black, and a muscular foot that they use to cling to rocks and other hard surfaces. Limpets are often considered a delicacy in some parts of the world and are eaten raw, boiled, or fried. They have a slightly sweet, briny flavor and a chewy texture. Limpets are also known for their high nutritional value, as they are low in fat and high in protein, iron, and other essential nutrients. However, due to their slow growth rate and vulnerability to over-harvesting, some populations of limpets have become threatened in recent years.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like limpet?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy