what is vegan

Is malates de sodium vegan?

Malates de sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is malates de sodium?

Sodium malates are food-grade chemicals that are commonly used as acidity regulators and flavor enhancers in the food industry. They are created by combining malic acid, a natural organic acid found in many fruits, with sodium hydroxide. Sodium malates are typically white, odorless, and tasteless powders that dissolve easily in water. They are a safe and effective way to add tartness to foods and beverages, without the harshness associated with other acidic compounds. Sodium malates are commonly used in products such as baked goods, beverages, candy, and sauces, and are also used as a preservative to extend the shelf life of food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like malates de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy