what is vegan

Is mayapple vegan?

Mayapple, also known as American mandrake, is a perennial herbaceous plant native to the eastern region of North America. The fruit of the mayapple resembles a small, yellowish-green apple and has a sweet, slightly tart flavor. It is commonly used in jams, jellies, and other sweet treats, but caution should be taken as the rest of the plant, including the leaves and roots, are poisonous if ingested. Mayapple has also been used in traditional medicine to treat a variety of ailments, including skin conditions and cancer, but its efficacy has not been fully supported by scientific research.

Mayapple is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like mayapple?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy