what is vegan

Is monoammonium glutamate vegan?

Monoammonium glutamate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is monoammonium glutamate?

Monoammonium glutamate (MAG) is a flavor enhancer commonly used in the food industry to improve the taste of processed foods. It is made by combining glutamic acid and ammonia, resulting in a white crystalline powder with a slightly sweet and umami taste. MAG is often used in conjunction with other similar flavor enhancers, such as monosodium glutamate (MSG), to create a more complex flavor profile. It is a popular ingredient in snacks, canned soups, and other processed foods. While some people are sensitive to MSG and similar compounds, the use of MAG is generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like monoammonium glutamate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy