what is vegan

Is monosodium l-glutamate e621 vegan?

Monosodium L-glutamate (E621) is a commonly used food additive that enhances the umami taste, a savory and meaty flavor, in food. It is derived from the amino acid glutamic acid, which is naturally present in many foods such as tomatoes, cheese, and meat. As a food additive, MSG is used in a variety of processed and packaged foods to improve their flavor and aroma. It is also used in some Asian cuisines as a seasoning agent. Despite some concerns about its safety, scientific research has found MSG to be generally safe for consumption in normal amounts.

Monosodium l-glutamate e621 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ­čĹç

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like monosodium l-glutamate e621?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app ­čÖî

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy