what is vegan

Is octadecanoic vegan?

Octadecanoic is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is octadecanoic?

Octadecanoic, also known as stearic acid, is a saturated fatty acid commonly found in various animal and vegetable fats. It is a white, odorless, and waxy substance that is solid at room temperature. Octadecanoic is used in a wide range of food products, including margarine, baked goods, confectionery, and chocolate, as it helps to improve texture and stability. It is also commonly used in cosmetic products, such as soaps, shampoos, and lotions, as it provides a smooth and creamy texture. Despite its association with saturated fats, octadecanoic has been shown to have potential health benefits, including reducing inflammation and improving cholesterol levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like octadecanoic?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy