what is vegan

Is origan vegan?

Origan is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is origan?

Origan, also known as oregano, is a popular culinary herb that adds a distinct and robust flavor to a wide range of dishes. It is a member of the mint family and is native to the Mediterranean region, where it has been used in cooking and medicine for thousands of years. Origan is characterized by its small, oval-shaped leaves that are green in color and emit a strong aroma when crushed. Its flavor is earthy, slightly bitter, and slightly sweet, making it a perfect addition to pizza, pasta, and meat dishes. In addition to its culinary uses, origan is also valued for its medicinal properties, including its ability to boost the immune system, aid in digestion, and relieve respiratory issues.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like origan?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy