what is vegan

Is polyvinyl alcohol vegan?

Polyvinyl alcohol is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is polyvinyl alcohol?

Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) is a water-soluble synthetic polymer that has many unique properties making it a versatile ingredient in the food industry. It is commonly used as a thickener, emulsifier, and stabilizer in products such as processed meat, dairy, and baked goods. PVA's excellent film-forming ability also makes it ideal for packaging applications, providing a barrier against oxygen and other gases that can spoil the food. In addition, its non-toxic nature and biodegradability make it a safe and eco-friendly choice for food manufacturers. Overall, PVA is an innovative ingredient that enhances the quality and shelf life of many food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like polyvinyl alcohol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy