what is vegan

Is شکر vegan?

شکر is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is شکر?

شکر or "shakar" is a fine, granulated sugar commonly used in Middle Eastern cuisines. It is made by evaporating and crystallizing the juice extracted from sugarcane or sugar beets. شکر adds a sweet flavor and can be used to sweeten tea, coffee, desserts, and baked goods. It also acts as a preservative and helps to retain moisture in foods. This ingredient is a staple in many households and is often used in celebratory dishes during holidays and special occasions. The use of شکر dates back centuries and is an integral part of traditional Middle Eastern cooking.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like شکر?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy