what is vegan

Is sorbato de vegan?

Sorbato de is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sorbato de?

Sorbato de or sorbic acid is a popular food preservative commonly used to extend the shelf life of various food products. It's a colorless and odorless crystalline powder that is soluble in water and alcohol. Sorbato de inhibits the growth of mold, yeast, and bacteria by interfering with their metabolic processes, making it an excellent choice for preserving foods such as cheese, baked goods, and beverages. While it has been deemed safe for consumption by regulatory agencies, some individuals may experience allergies or intolerances to this ingredient. Overall, sorbato de plays a crucial role in ensuring the safety and longevity of many food products on the market today.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sorbato de?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy